Over two dozen Illinois counties, including three in western Illinois, have been declared federal disaster areas due to flooding this past spring and summer.

President Trump Thursday declared that a major disaster existed in Illinois and ordered federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts in 27 counties, including Adams, Hancock and Pike counties.

The federal money will go to local governments affected by severe storms and flooding that took place from late February through early July.

State officials say they will start working with FEMA and county emergency managers to expedite the grant and loan application process.

More From KHMO-AM 1070, News-Talk-Sports