76 counties in six states, including Pike County, Illinois, have been added  to the USDA's list of primary natural disaster areas due to the drought and excessive heat.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the designation Wednesday. Qualified farm operators are eligible for low-interest emergency loans.

The other Illinois county added is Crawford, in southeastern Illinois.