(Washington, DC)--USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack declared on Wednesday a total of 63 Missouri counties eligible for low-interest loans and other federal assistance.  The disaster-aid declaration is due to continuing drought conditions in the state.  Of the 63 total counties, 31 are designated as primary due to extreme drought conditions, and another 32 are contiguous.  Primary counties in our area include Pike, Ralls, Monroe, Lincoln and Audrain.  Contiguous counties include Adair, Marion, Macon, and Shelby.

Eligible farmers can contact their nearest USDA Farm Service Agency for more information on emergency loans and other assistance.