The annual process is underway that sends four area high school students to the nation's capital this summer.
Adams Electric Cooperative and Adams Telephone Co-Operative have selected 28 applicants from ten area high schools to represent the co-ops at Illinois Electric and Telephone Youth Day on April 2.
Then, the applicants will be interviewed and two from that group will be awarded an eight-day all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. in June.
Four area high school sophomores or juniors will win an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C., June 13-20, 2014, in an annual contest sponsored by Adams Electric Cooperative and Adams Telephone Co-Operative.
Students invited to represent Adams Electric Cooperative and Adams Telephone Co-Operative at the “Illinois Electric & Telephone Cooperative Youth Day” in Springfield are:
Shannon Bishop, Evelyn Chapman, Paula Chapman, and Leah Rohrer of Brown County High School
Keagan Merritt, John Moellring, Jaycie Taylor, and Savannah Wardlaw of Central High School
Connor Klingele and Autumn Lucas of Liberty High School
Noah Brinkman and Trevor Maiers of Payson Seymour High School
Tanner Marshall, Oliver Morrison, and Keaton Schuckman  of Quincy Notre Dame High School
Lauren Cox and Jennifer Nall of Quincy Senior High School
Miranda Taylor of Rushville-Industry High School
Kody Eilers, Jamie Lam, Randallynn Smith, and Jerricko Thomas of Southeastern High School
Camber Flick, Kayla Gronewold, Kylie Hull, Jenny King, and Annika Lewis of Unity High School
Angie Cluff of Warsaw High School.

This year marks the 55th year of the Youth to Washington program. Adams Electric Cooperative has been sending students to Washington, D.C. since 1959. Adams Telephone joined the program in 2004.
For more information about the Youth to Washington program, contact Laura Dotson at Adams Electric Cooperative at 800-232-4797 or Bridgette Northern at Adams Telephone Co-Operative at 877-696-4611.