Missouri Governor Eric Greitens Wednesday put in a formal request to President Trump to have a total of 45 Missouri counties declared disaster areas as a result of flooding that began in late April.

Greitens asked that 37 counties be made eligible for individual assistance, and that 45 counties be approved for public assistance.

Among the counties on the list for public assistance are Pike and Ralls counties in northeast Missouri.

The disaster designation for public assistance would allow local governments and qualifying non profit agencies to seek federal assistance for reimbursement of emergency response and recovery costs.

More From KHMO-AM 1070, News-Talk-Sports