For the second time this year, Missouri Governor Mike Parson has asked that parts of the state be declared major disaster areas.

Parson requested that President Trump make the declaration to help with individual assistance in 41 Missouri counties and public assistance in 64 counties.

Among the counties asking for individual assistance are Adair, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon and Pike in northeast Missouri.

Individual assistance would allow eligible residents to apply for federal help with temporary housing, replacement of damaged belongings and vehicles.

Public assistance would allow local governments and non-profit agencies to seek reimbursement of emergency response and recovery costs.

Northeast Missouri counties asking for public assistance include Adair, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Ralls, Schuyler, Scotland and Shelby.

The governor’s request comes in the wake of flooding, tornadoes and severe storms that began in late April and continued throughout the spring.

More From KHMO-AM 1070, News-Talk-Sports