Here are just some of the notable sports moments that happened on July 24:

1908 — After Dorando Pietri of Italy was disqualified for getting assistance in crossing the finish line, American Johnny Hayes won the marathon at the Summer Olympics in London in an Olympic record-setting time of 2:55:18.4 hours. (More info.)

1952 — Emil Zatopek of Czechoslovakia won the gold medal in the 5,000-meters at the Summer Olympics in Helsinki in an Olympic record time of 14:06.6 minutes. (More info.)

1958 — Ted Williams of the Boston Red Sox was fined $250 for spitting at heckling fans in Kansas City. Williams was fined $5,000 for a similar incident in 1956. (More info.)

1968 — Hoyt Wilhelm of the Chicago White Sox pitched in his 907th game to break Cy Young’s record for career pitching appearances. (More info.)

1973 — The National League beat the American League, 7-1, in the MLB All-Star Game at Royals Stadium in Kansas City. (More info.)

1976 — American John Naber won his fourth gold medal of the Summer Olympics in Montreal, as he became the first swimmer to break the two-minute barrier in the 200-meter backstroke. (More info.)

1983 — George Brett of the Kansas City Royals was ejected from a game against the New York Yankees for charging the home plate umpire after he ruled that Brett’s go-ahead, ninth inning home run off Rich Gossage would not count because there was too much pine tar on his bat. (More info.)

1987 — Boris Becker defeated John McEnroe at Hartford, Conn in a Davis Cup elimination match that lasted 6 hours 38 minutes — the longest Davis Cup match ever played. (More info.)

1993 — Pitcher Anthony Young of the New York Mets lost a record 27th straight decision. (More info.)

1994 — Miguel Indurain of Spain won his fourth consecutive Tour de France in Paris. (More info.)

1996 — Wide receiver Michael Irvin of the Dallas Cowboys was suspended for the first five games of the 1997 NFL season by Commissioner Paul Tagliabue after he pled no contest to a charge of cocaine possession. (More info.)

2005 — American Lance Armstrong won a record seventh consecutive Tour de France in Paris. (More info.)