A total of 19 Missouri schools, including two in northeast Missouri, will be honored later this month for their commitment to presenting learning opportunities to their students.

Officials with the state Department of Elementary and Secondary Education announce that nine schools have been named Exemplary Professional Learning Communities Schools for promoting cultures focused on collaborative learning while effectively using data to increase student achievement.

Among the schools recognized is A.D. Stowell Elementary School in Hannibal.

Another ten schools will be honored as Sustaining Exemplary Professional Learning Communities Schools in recognition of maintaining a continued high level of learning.

One of those schools to be honored is Highland Elementary School in Lewis County.

All of these schools will be honored at the 2019 Powerful Learning Conference at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach January 28th and 29th.

More From KHMO-AM 1070, News-Talk-Sports